Skip to Page Content

Ron Shane Lifetime Achievement Award

    Each year the SHRM Delaware State Council, Inc. and Chapters in Delaware honor an individual who has continually shown outstanding service and has promoted the profession of Human Resource Management throughout their career by presenting the Ron Shane Lifetime Achievement Award. The winner is announced at the Annual Delaware State Human Resources Conference.   

    The 2021 nomination period is now open!
    Nominate today using the form below. The deadline for nominations is September 1st, 2021!

    Core values of the Ron Shane Lifetime Achievement Award:

    • Honesty, leadership, commitment, integrity and moral strength
    • Vision for moving the field of Human Resources forward
    • Project and/or program success that have benefited the profession and HR Professionals
    • Contributions to the profession that truly stand out

    The award recognizes outstanding individuals who meet the following criteria:

    Dedication to the Human Resources profession: this refers to the individual’s dedication and commitment to HR, meaning there should be a demonstrated love of the profession, belief that the role of HR is critical to the business it serves, and full support of the overall mission of SHRM national.

    Professional credentials and accomplishments: includes any academic or professional achievements, business successes, HR Certifications, advanced degrees, continuing education, etc.

    Professional involvement: has been active in national or local SHRM chapters, served in any roles dedicated to advancing the HR profession and HR professionals, leads by example, represented HR profession on committees, etc.

    Demonstrated HR leadership: looked upon by professionals in HR as an expert, serves formally or informally as a coach to others, develops more novice HR individuals, champions HR issues at local, state, or federal levels.

    Previous Awardees




    Ronald M. Shane, SPHR 


    William Dodds, SPHR 


    Dr. Scott Cawood, SPHR 


    Dr. Patricia Buhler 


    Rita Johnson-Chase, PHR 


    Vickie McCardell, PHR 


    Frank Ingraham, SPHR, SHRM-SCP


    Vickie Tully, SPHR 











    Carol Kleiman

    Melissa Greene, PHR

    Patricia Clendening, GPHR, SPHR, SHRM-SCP

    Wanda Spiering, PHR, SHRM-CP

    Jon McDowell, SPHR SHRM-SCP

    Cindy Crompton-Barone, PHR, SHRM-CP

    Peggy Eddens

    Joanne Lee, SHRM-SCP

    Jackie Poquette, SPHR, SHRM-SCP

    Maribeth B. Dockety, MA, SHRM-CP, PHR 

    Nominate A Colleague

    If you would like to nominate a friend or colleague, please review this nominating criteria:

    1. The nominee is required to have demonstrated significant contributions to the HR profession in the state of Delaware.
    2. Lifetime achievement is an indicator of years in the HR field. Nominee should have more than 15 years of HR experience.
    3. Involvement in a human resource professional organization is important to the nomination.  It is preferred that the nominee is a member of SHRM (either on a national or local chapter level).

    A five member committee composed of Delaware State Council members and at least one past recipient reviews the nominees and makes the final selection.

    This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.